Círculo Eça de Queiroz

Círculo Eça de Queiroz (CEQ) includes a library with approximately 3,000 books dully catalogued and currently undergoing the process of computerization.

In addition to the various editions of the literary works by the Portuguese author Eça de Queiroz, the library also includes works by various other authors, such as:

  • Alexandre Herculano
  • Antero de Quental
  • Camilo Castelo Branco
  • Conde de Sabugosa
  • Fernando Sabóia de Medeiros
  • Fialho d’Almeida
  • Guerra Junqueiro
  • Joaquim paço d’Arcos
  • Oliveira Martins
  • Pinheiro Chagas
  • Ramalho Ortigão

The books that are offered to the Club are placed on display for a period of time, after which they are afterwards catalogued and archived. The books may be lent to the Members upon request.

The CEQ’s library has a computer with Internet connection at the disposal of its Members.

In addition to its own library, the Círculo also includes on its premises the library of Baltazar Rebelo de Sousa, as lended to the CEQ. This private library, consisting of approximately 1,000 books, was fully computerized by PORBASE – Base Nacional de Dados Bibliográficos and covers several subject areas, such as:

  • Art
  • Biosciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Law
  • Economics
  • History of Portugal
  • Universal History
  • Industry
  • Foreign Language Literature
  • Portuguese Literature
  • Politics
  • Religion
  • Overseas